Tags

, ,

This clip is a scene from the film “Dying Young” where a slideshow is shown of the works of Gustav Klimt and Dante Gabriel Rosetti. It’s not the clearest quality, but still beautiful.

This scene reminded me of how much I love Gustav Klimt. I’ve been thinking about his paintings a lot lately. My favorite used to be “The Kiss”, which I think is his most famous piece.
Gustav Klimt's The Kiss (http://www.wikipaintings.org/en/gustav-klimt/the-kiss-1908)

For now, I think my favorite of his paintings is “Adam and Eve”. Adam and Eve (http://www.wmofa.com/artists/Klimt,_Gustav/image/Adam_and_Eve_-_unfinished_1917-1918.jpg.html&img=&tt=)

I love the look on his face. I could stare at him for hours. There is just such a quiet about this painting.

He created so many absolutely beautiful paintings.

I read a children’s book about him at the library the other day, and it described Klimt as being a champion. A soldier fighting for happiness. Battling sickness, greed, and unhappiness in the world with art. About how art, poetry, and music can change the world we live in, for the better. I like that idea. I’d like to believe that it’s possible, and sometimes, looking at art, or reading poetry, or listening to a powerful piece of music, I really do believe it’s true.

