Tags

, , , ,

It’s been a long time since I last posted, but I’ve been struggling with finding the right format and place to express my thoughts. I’ve mentioned before that I keep a regular journal; good, old fashioned pen & paper, but I’m always looking for more ways to facilitate the writing habit. I have notebooks scattered all over the place & I carry a small moleskin with me always. I’ve even fallen in love with the note making app downloaded on my Android. (OneNote) I carry a full assortment of pens of various types and mini highlighters, should the need arise. These feel like the tools of my trade, although they are far removed from the way in which I actually earn my modest keep. How about you? Do you feel incomplete with out some means to quickly jot down a thought before it abandons you?
I don’t often feel like I have much to say. I’m one of those people who doesn’t really talk unless there’s something worth saying or some way to add to the conversation. Unfortunately, that means I’m largely silent. I live a very quiet kind of life, but my internal life is almost always teeming.
I have 2 jobs. I work at a public library & at a private, non-profit foster care agency. Both jobs are often busy and loud. You wouldn’t normally associate *loud* with *library*, but believe me, most times it is exactly that. That’s where the whole *public* aspect comes in.
By the time I’m finally off work, I just want to be alone and quiet somewhere restful to detox my brain. Most of my close friends are scattered to the wind at present, which means I’ve become even more of a hermit. And I don’t really mind it. Maybe that’s part of getting older. (I would say “growing up” but I’m not sure I ever plan to do that.)
I’ve had a lot of productive projects to work on this year. I’ve been cataloging my books (over 630 of them) reimagining my living space, and learning to knit (I’ve almost finished my first pair of socks). I need small windows of inspiration and stimulation to keep my sanity in a world that constantly strives to undermine it.
I’m looking forward to finding new uses for this space and finding  more & more ways to be inspired and productive.
May you all find ways to keep your hearts light and your inspiration plentiful. And may we all find ways to fulfill all our purpose.

B.

