Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been reading a lot of paranormal, sort of post-apocalyptic fiction lately. Usually, I read about four books at a time, all different subject matter and genre types, but lately, there’s at least one paranormal book. I started reading Simon R. Green’s Nightside series this year, and I got really into it.

Nightside #1

His sort of post-apocalyptic, noir, gumshoe hero is this dark, messed up character with scars and flaws and trouble seeing his own merit, but well aware of his ass-kicking abilities and reputation as harbinger of death & mayhem. All this dark packaging and, yes, ultimately the one that saves the day. Love it. So much fun.

Simon R. Green’s books are kind of a cross between Richard Kadrey’s Sandman Slim series and the Black London series by Caitlin Kittredge. Both of which I recommend. I’m only 3 books in to the Nightside series, so far, and I have at least one book to catch up in the Black London series, but I just finished Kadrey’s latest Sandman Slim novel, Aloha From Hell.

Sandman Slim #1

Sandman Slim is a man born with paranormal abilities, namely a natural capacity for magic. Through a course of events, he spends eleven years in Hell, alive, fighting, sustaining massive damage, surviving, becoming an assassin, and returning to the mortal plane to get vengeance, and, you know, save mankind without any kind of thanks. If that paltry description sounds at all interesting, READ IT. Soo good.

Other paranormal books on my reading list for this year are:
John Dies at the End by David Wong
Grave Secret by Charlaine Harris
Heartless & Timeless by Gail Carriger, the latest 2 books in the Parasol Protectorate series
The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe
Grimoire by Kim Wilkins
The Night Circus (in progress) by Erin Morgenstern
Bone Gods by Caitlin Kittredge
The Town That Forgot How to Breathe by Kenneth J. Harvey
The Necromancer by Jonathan L. Howard
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
Shadow of Night by Deborah Harknesss
Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris

I’m sure the list will grow as the months continue, and hopefully I’ll continue to make good headway. If you’re curious about other books I’ve read or have on my reading list, you can check out my goodreads.com list here: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/119908-becky

~B

