Tags

,

After an exceedingly long hiatus of procrastination, distraction, and coping mechanisms, I blog again. I’ve been busy with job changes and other various daily experiences of the mundane. I don’t really have anything new to report. I’ve been learning how to live on less, planning my life with a smaller budget that I hope will be temporary. I’ve been at home a lot, just existing in a quieter way. And, I have to admit, I’ve been watching a lot of movies. A lot. Rewatching, and watching new ones.

The last week I’ve been without a computer. My laptop registry was corrupted after a batch of updates last Friday and went to my brother’s house for what I hoped would be repairs. He was able to save my files and somehow was able to restore the operating system where all my attempts had failed. So, happily, I have it back and it’s working great now.

Also, I got a new mini for Christmas- an Acer. In fact, I’m using it now. I suddenly find myself with all these options for entertainment, communication, etc., that I was without for the last week. Last week I was scraping the dregs of my mind for some way to keep myself mentally stimulated. I know… I should have been reading, but I was lazy and couldn’t choose a book. So, I watched movies.

I watched The Royal Tenenbaums twice. It’s one of my favorites. I watched every movie in my collection I could stand to watch in such a short interim. I watched an old version of Bleak House and nearly killed myself with mass quantities of Victorian doom and gloom. I watched Dead Silence and freaked myself out again. I rewatched the Firefly season. I watched enumerable dvds. I should be rather ashamed of myself. I realized just how much I love netflix because I was utterly without its instant viewing options.

I know, it sounds like I have no life. It’s very pared down. Minimalistic would be an optimistic term for it. I also worked and spent some time with a friend and did Christmas shopping and wrapped gifts and other little things. I only have one friend in the area that I can arrange to see relatively often. The others have a lot of obligations or opposing work schedules or something else to make spending time together difficult. And of course I spend a lot of time with family. With their loud tv programs and movies, and their small private melodramas. I guard my solitude as much as I can.

This has been a weird little mishmash of whatsits. Nothing to get excited about, aside from the fact that it may mean I’m getting my hand back in. I really need to do some serious writing. And if this gets me started, all the better!

Farewell, lovelies.

~B

