Tags

, , , , , , , ,

“All the world’s a stage,
And all the men and women merely players;
They have their exits and their entrances,
And one man in his time plays many parts,…”
~William Shakespeare

Life goes on, and on, and on. I have been plodding my way through these slow days. When I am at work, I am busy, but I have many periods of empty time that I fill with this and that, to please myself or pass the time. I’ve felt a bit purposeless of late. I have tried to find useful or interesting things to fill my time, but largely, I feel like I have been wasting it.

Next week, my work schedule changes, and with the change I may be able to begin picking up more hours at another company site. The details are still being worked out. Maybe the increase in work will give me a better sense of accomplishment. I’m sure what I really need is a change in perspective. My brain seems to be locked into a small pattern of thinking and my world shrinks to accommodate it.

I’ve been craving autumnal/Halloween movies lately. I don’t have many, or access to many at the moment, but I am eager to see the season change and to allow whimsicality to return. Friends of mine used to host a Halloween Party and I always looked forward to planning my costume and plotting out what crazy things I could do with makeup and imagination. This year, there is no party. No one likes to dress up and be imaginative like I do. And it’s no fun to dress alone. I think I will do something simple for work and that will be all.

I’ve been listening to a great podcast lately. I just discovered it a week or so ago and I’ve been telling anyone I think might be interested all about it. Found at hppodcraft.com, it’s the H.P. Lovecraft Literary Podcast and it’s been going for a couple of years now. It’s free to subscribe to on itunes, or the zune marketplace, if you’re anything like me. Or you can check out their site: again, it’s hppodcraft.com. Listen to the H.P. Lovecraft bio first. I love the show and I find myself smiling and laughing out loud as I listen. Chad Fifer and Chris Lackey, the hosts, are hilarious and very knowledgeable, though they claim to be amateurs, just fans of Lovecraft who want to bring more light to his work. It’s great stuff.

That’s all for now. I hadn’t blogged in a while and I need to get my hand back into it.

B

