Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’ s been very quiet at my first job as I’ve been working over the Spring Break. I’ve been busy most of the time, but the office itself and the surrounding campus have been almost desolate. I rather like it. I’m not really unnerved by solitude. It gives me time to process all the craziness in my head. 🙂

For those who may be curious, I work on a University campus in the mornings. I am halftime because the economy and budget constrictions do not allow for me to be full time. I work for one of the graduate schools on  campus.

It’s always amused me how the campus life ebbs and flows. Students arrive en-mass, flooding the campus and clogging the pathways; and then suddenly, their numbers drain down to a mere trickle, ebbing like low tide, or an empty sink. I’ve never really minded the transition from maximum occupancy to quiet. It’s a little unnerving when the campus is suddenly a ghost town, but it’s an easy adjustment. What used to disturb me was the sudden influx after the silence. It was an adjustment to dodge around bodies and bob and weave through hallways that were once so momentarily empty. But that has become easier to adjust to, as well. I have worked on campus here for almost 5 years now, first as a student, then as staff.

Today was officially a campus holiday, but there were still a few of us (die hards, or crazies, I’m not sure which) working in the emptiness. What made today especially different was the fact that I had to unlock the door to the building as well as the door to my department and then backtrack to turn the timer so that I would have some light. The campus was fully shut down.

Sometimes I imagine this is what it would be like if I had my own office rather than a desk in a reception-type area. (Budget constraints again.) I could close my door, play some music, and fully focus. Alas, I have learned to make do. And I’ve gotten pretty good at it.

Last night I finished reading Boneshaker by Cherie Priest. (I’ve become a bit of a slow reader, unfortunately.) I really do like Steampunk as a genre. Boneshaker had a nice, complex story line with great characters, action, mayhem, old world style, new world ingenuity, and sass. I would have liked a tad more resolution, but the author went with dramatic ambiguity. Still, it was good.

I’ve been reading a lot of Steampunk books lately. Alchemy of Stone and Soulless are recent reads. Next on my steampunk list is Changeless, the sequel to Soulless and part two of the “Parasol Protectorate.” Soulless was super fun and easy reading. It’s a new favorite that can be likened to the Sookie Stackhouse books by Charlaine Harris. I’m also looking forward to the new Sookie book out this May. You can read the first chapter of it here. True Blood is supposed to start back up this June as well. Though quite different from the book series in many ways, I love the show for its own interpretations.

Well, I should be running off to my other job now. Hopefully it will be calm and productive as well. Happy Easter!

